two weeks down

So it has been a full TWO weeks in Seattle. Exciting things happened this week, I started my job, I met up with lots of different new friends and made it back to my hotel three times without using googlemaps! Yippee!

Work started out great, everyone is super nice and welcoming and I feel like I understand whats going on. Now I just have to gain the trust and respect of the team and figure out how all these Brooks people work!

I have been taking the bus to work..i feel so city..it’s so cool haha. I mean I am the newbie who is paying with cash still, I need to get my hands on one of those fancy passes that all these people have..

I had some small bus mishaps (got off early a few times and ended up walking a little longer than I anticipated) but by the end of the week, I had it all figured out.

One funny thing did happen on my first day. I was sitting at my desk and I hear a man say ‘Hey, I want to take a picture of you.’ Confused, I turned around to see it was my manager’s manager, the VP of Product who is kinda temporarily heading development. So I am thinking well, this seems weird. So I laugh uncomfortably and say, um..what? Another guy I work with yells ‘Hey Dave, you have to add ‘..for work. I want to take a picture of you for work because it sounds creepy otherwise’ (agreed) So we all have a little chuckle and then I see he is still standing there with his iphone photo ready. I am thinking, alright, he is serious about this. So I stand up and ask what its for, what should I do. He throws a shoe at me and tells me to pose with it. So I do, and its awkward and people are watching. Just an overall uncomfortable situation. But it gets better because when I ask why he needs it, he tells me he wants to add this weird picture into my introduction email..that gets sent to the whole company. So now not only does this photo exist, but that is how I was introduced to Brooks. Fabulous.

Anyways, like I said I had some friend dates, happy hours and brunches, went to some cool bars and had a great weekend hanging out with new people and exploring. Move-in date got pushed to Wednesday and I am SO excited to be in my new neighborhood and have all this cool stuff within walking distance.

alright, that’s it for now. thanks for reading, you fantastic people 🙂

Standard

Leave a comment